Wardlaw Scholarship programme


The Wardlaw Scholarship programme was established in 2004 in honour of Henry Wardlaw, Bishop of St Andrews and fifteenth-century founder of the University of St Andrews. This programme of awards is designed to provide support for students who can demonstrate they have the ability and potential to benefit from a university education, but who have financial circumstances which might impact on their university studies or choice of university. These scholarships are funded by generous donations from alumni and friends of the University of St Andrews, charitable trusts and other organisations and companies.   Many of the awards are named after donors or in honour/memory of the donor’s family members.

There are a number of scholarships under the Wardlaw umbrella that have slightly different sets of criteria but the majority of the awards we make have the following eligibility details.

Geographical: Scotland, England, Northern Ireland, Wales, Channel Islands, EU

Domicile for fee status: Home (Scotland/EU) or RUK

Level of study: Undergraduate

Year of entry (2016/7): Entrant students

Schools/ Subjects: All

 Additional criteria: Selection is on the basis of financial need.

Duration of award: Annually for the duration of the student’s undergraduate programme.

Value of award (per year): £3,000 paid in monthly instalments

Tuition or maintenance award? Maintenance (can be offset against accommodation fees on request)

Number of awards available: In 2015/6 we awarded 27 scholarships (both named and general awards)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *